CORPUS CHRISTI DISTRACTED DRIVING INJURY ATTORNEY
Injured by an distracted driver in Corpus Christi?
Distracted driving is taken very seriously in Corpus Christi, Texas. In 2013, Corpus Christi issued Ordinance 53-16 regarding cell phone use in a moving vehicle. The ordinance requires that the operator of a motor vehicle may not use a wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle within city limits.
In the summer of 2017, Texas Governor Greg Abbott banned texting and driving throughout the state. “The fine for first-time offenders could reach $99, and repeat offenders up to $200. If the result is an accident causing serious harm or death, the driver can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor that could result in jail time for up to 1 year and a fine up to $4,000.” (www.dmv.org) Drivers are still permitted to use GPS while driving and are strongly encouraged to use the sound option and stay focused on the road.
TXDOT reports that in 2016, 109,658 traffic accidents were caused by distracted driving which resulted in over 50,000 injuries and 455 fatalities.
Nueces County Distracted Driver Crash Data – 2016
- 10 Fatal Crashes
- 12 Fatalities
- 28 Incapacitating Crashes
- 37 Incapacitating Injuries
- 94 Non-Incapacitating Crashes
- 131 Non-Incapacitating Injuries
- 195 Possible Injury Crashes
- 320 Possible Injuries
- 842 Non-Injury Crashes
- 2,696 Non-Injuries
- 33 Unknown Severity Crashes
- 112 Unknown Injuries
If you, a friend or a loved one has suffered an injury due to a distracted driver in Corpus Christi, Texas, call a personal injury attorney at The Patel Firm today. From Corpus Christi to San Antonio, Dallas, Waco, Houston, The Rio Grande Valley and beyond, The Patel Firm PLLC is a phone call away. Contact us today.