Texas Personal Injury Lawyer in Corpus Christi

Practice Areas

Facebook

Twitter

Open 24/7

Here when you need us most.

Facebook

Twitter

Search
Menu
 

DRUNK DRIVING ACCIDENT ATTORNEY

The Patel Firm PLLC > DRUNK DRIVING ACCIDENT ATTORNEY

Texas Drunk Driving Accident Attorney

Based on yearly crash data from TXDOT, we can categorize different types of Texas car accidents, frequency, and causes. Among the most frequently listed types of car accidents in Texas are drunk driving accidents. Drunk driving is an epidemic on Texas roads. Whether its a drunk driving accident in Dallas, or a drunk driving accident in Corpus Christi, drunk drivers in Texas can wreck havoc on Texas roadways. After a drunk driving accident contact the DWI accident lawyers in Corpus Christi at The Patel Firm PLLC to protect your rights and ensure right to fair compensation. 

 

Drunk driving car accidents in Texas, as expected, occurred in higher numbers in bigger counties. Harris County, at 2,941 drunk driving car wrecks, had the most in Texas, which also correlated with the highest number of DUI fatalities, 149. Dallas County drunk driving accidents reached 2,410 with 91 fatal crashes, the 2nd highest county total in Texas. Bexar County ranked 3rd highest with 2,055 alcohol related crashes, 49 of those drunk driving crashes resulted in fatalities.

 

Nueces County drunk driving accidents totaled 452 alcohol related crashes and 8 fatalities. 397 of those drunk driving crashes and 6 of the fatal drunk driving accidents were Corpus Christi drunk driving accidents.

 

According to the reported data, there were a total of 24,563 drunk driving accidents in Texas, resulting in 987 fatalities. Regardless of the harsh punishments for DWI, the number of Texas drunk driving car wrecks are not decreasing.

Texas Drunk Driving Offenses

The Texas DMV website lists the standard state charges for Alcohol related driving offenses:

1st Offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine.
  • Jail time between 3 days and 180 days.
  • License suspension for up to 2 years.
  • Annual surcharge up to $2,000 for 3 years to keep your license.
  • DWI intervention or education program.
  • Possible ignition interlock device.

2nd Offense

  • Up to a $4,000 fine.
  • Jail time between 1 month and 1 year.
  • License suspension up to 2 years.
  • Annual surcharge of up to $2,000 for 3 years to keep your license.
  • DWI intervention or education program.
  • Possible ignition interlock device.

3rd Offense

  • Up to a $10,000 fine.
  • State prison time between 2 years and 10 years.
  • License suspension up to 2 years.
  • Annual surcharge of up to $2,000 for 3 years to keep your license.
  • DWI intervention or education program.
  • Possible ignition interlock device.

DWI with a Child Passenger

If you’re driving while intoxicated with a child younger than 15 years old in your vehicle, you face:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Jail time up to 2 years.
  • License suspension for 180 days.

Extreme DWI Crimes

All DWI offenses are serious, but some are extremely grave, such as intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter.

Contact a drunk driving accident attorney in Corpus Christi, Texas

If you or a loved one have been injured after being hit by a drunk driver in a Corpus Christi car accident, contact a drunk driving accident lawyer in Corpus Christi at The Patel Firm PLLC today for a free legal consultation. The Corpus Christi DWI injury attorneys at The Patel Firm PLLC will aggressively fight for every penny you deserve after a car accident with a drunk driver in Corpus Christi, or anywhere else in the State of Texas.

 

After a Corpus Christi car wreck with a drunk driver, call a DWI accident lawyer in Corpus Christi at The Patel Firm PLLC, a personal injury law firm in Corpus Christi, Texas ready and willing to hold drunk drivers in Texas accountable. Speak to a Corpus Christi DWI injury lawyer at The Patel Firm PLLC now.